česky | English

nocturne in b major 

opus number
Burghauser catalogue number
1882 / 1883(?) 
premiere - date and place
before 15 May 1879, Nice 
premiere - performer(s)
Baron Dervies's Orchestra, conductor Karel Kucera(?) 
instrumentation violins, violas, cellos, double basses
approx. 9 min. 

This piece of music was originally the slow movement Andante religioso from the String Quartet in E minor dated 1870. Dvorak then used it as the free movement in his String Quintet in G major. But it didn’t find a permanent home there, either, after Dvorak decided in 1883 to rework it into a piece entitled Nocturne. It exists in three versions: for orchestra (B47), for violin and piano (B48) and for four-hand piano (B48b). The piece is serious in tone, with an almost unchanging expression throughout. The endless melody in the upper voice takes small melodic steps above a monotone quaver accompaniment and a sustained deep bass F sharp. This combination of expressive means creates an almost hypnotic effect throughout the piece.