česky | English

seven pieces for small orchestra

COMPOSED 12 January - 5 February 1867
PREMIERE - DATE AND PLACE 31 January 1991, London
PREMIERE - PERFORMER(S) New London Orchestra, conductor Ronald Carp
FIRST EDITION Editio Supraphon, 1989, Prague
INSTRUMENTATION 1 flute, 1 oboe, 1 clarinet, 1 bassoon, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani, violins, violas, cellos, double basses
1. Capriccio (Allegro risouluto)
2. (Andante sostenuto)
3. Con molta espressione
4. Allegro con brio
5. (Allegro assai)
6. Serenade
7. Allegro animato
DURATION approx. 24 min.

Up until the beginning of the 1890s it was the custom at Provisional (and later also National) Theatre drama productions to play music during the interval written for a small ensemble of musicians. Apart from works by various foreign and domestic composers, Dvorak, viola player with the Provisional Theatre at the time, also contributed his music. Seven Pieces for Small Orchestra was discovered in 1951 in the estate of music publisher Mojmir Urbanek.      
page of the score featuring Dvorak’s note:
“A few modest ideas for a very modest orchestra, completed 5. 2. 1867. Antonin Dvorak. Thank God!”