česky | English

silent woods for cello and orchestra

COMPOSED 28 October 1893
PREMIERE - DATE AND PLACE 16 December 1894, Basel
PREMIERE - PERFORMER(S) Moritz Kahnt (cello), Alfred Volckland (concuctor)
FIRST EDITION Simrock, 1894, Berlin
MAIN KEY D flat major
INSTRUMENTATION 1 flute, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 1 horn, violins, violas, cellos, double basses + cello solo
DURATION approx. 6 min.

Dvorak arranged the fifth part of his earlier four-hand piano cycle From the Bohemian Forest for cello and piano for a concert tour organised before his departure for the United States. This is a short little piece of sombre mood, in Czech usually going by the title of Klid, which translates simply as “Silence” or “Tranquility”; in English it is usually presented as Silent Woods. Two years later the composer arranged the piano accompaniment for small orchestra.